In the state of Connecticut, a patient who has been diagnosed with any of the qualifying medical conditions is legally protected under the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Law, as per the House Bill 5389 (PDF).

A patient suffering from one of the following life-threatening, debilitating or otherwise severe conditions listed below and who have not responded to traditional medical treatments, might qualify for Medical Marijuana treatment in Connecticut:

  • Pain (chronic or severe)
  • Chronic Neuropathic Pain
  • Intractable Headache
  • Rheumatoid Arthritis
  • Psoriasis and Psoriatic Arthritis
  • Spasticity or Neuropathic Pain Associated with Fibromyalgia
  • Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury
  • PTSD
  • Multiple Sclerosis
  • Cancer
  • Terminal Illness
  • Seizures
  • Epilepsi
  • Cerebral Palsy
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Glaucoma
  • Cystic Fibrosis
  • Osteogenesis Imperfecta
  • ALS
  • Sickle Cell Anemia
  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Post Herpetic Neuralgia
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Parkinson’s Disease
  • Cachexia
  • Post Laminectomy Syndrome with Chronic Radiculopathy
  • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis 
  • Complex Regional Pain Syndrome, Type 1 and Type II
  • Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
  • Spasticity or Neuropathic Pain Associated with Fibromyalgia (Effective 2018)*
  • Post Herpetic Neuralgia
  • Hydrocephalus with Intractable Headache
  • Intractable Headache Syndromes
  • Neuropathic Facial Pain
  • Chronic Neuropathic Pain Associated with Degenerative Spinal Disorders
  • Interstitial Cystitis
  • MALS Syndrome
  • Vulvodynia and Vulvar Burning
  • Tourette Syndrome
  • Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome Associated with Chronic Pain

For Patients Under 18, Qualifying Conditions Include:

  • Cerebral Palsy 
  • Cystic Fibrosis 
  • Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
  • Epilepsy
  • Terminal Illness
  • Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder
  • Muscular Dystrophy
  • Osteogenesis Imperfecta
  • Intractable Neuropathic Pain
  • Tourette Syndrome


Information about the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program

  1. To enroll in the program the patient must be eighteen (18) years or older. A patient younger than eighteen (18) years of age must have designated and registered an ‘Approved Caregiver’ on behalf of the patient. 
  2. The patient must be a resident in the state of Connecticut and provide proof of residency either in the form of a state issued ID card or Driver’s License.

    * If the patient does not have a valid state issued ID card or Driver’s license, a U.S passport along with a document that serves as a proof of address such as a bank statement or utility bill might be accepted. 
  3. The patient must obtain an evaluation from a certified practitioner within the state, and be diagnosed with one or more of the qualifying medical conditions listed above.
  4. The patient must create an account with DAS in order to access the online certification system. 

    * You must pay the application fee of $100.

    * If you have an ‘Approved Caregiver’ you must pay an additional fee of $25 for the caregiver application form.

    * The Registration Certificate will expire after one (1) year from the date of the Physician’s Certification. 

For more information about the registration process please visit Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program or FAQ


Accessing Medical Marijuana in Connecticut

Marijuana is classified as a Schedule I drug by the federal government, which means that doctors cannot prescribe this drug to their patients because marijuana prescriptions are illegal. Therefore, patients cannot fill a prescription for medical marijuana at a local pharmacy in the traditional way, but must instead obtain an evaluation from a certified medical marijuana doctor that will supply the patient with medical marijuana  from a dispensary, in compliance with the law of the state. A dispensary is considered by law to be a different kind of establishment to an ordinary pharmacy, this means that regular prescriptions cannot be filled at a dispensary. 

Once you have obtained your Medical Marijuana ID Card, you may purchase your medical marijuana from a certified dispensary. 

* Only qualified patients or designated caregivers may obtain no more than 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana during a thirty (30) days period, and must do so at an approved nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary.

* You must bring your Medical Marijuana ID Card and one more form of photo ID when purchasing medicine from a dispensary. 

*Minor Patients must be supervised by their designated caregiver or guardian when purchasing their medicine at a dispensary. Caregivers and Guardians must provide proof of ID when accompanying the Minor Patient. 

* The patient can only buy seedlings from dispensaries, and are not allowed to purchase directly from any licensed growers.

For more information, please visit Connecticut Medical Marijuana Laws