Texas – FAQ

Got Questions?

Here you’ll find the answers to common questions people have when signing up.

How do I qualify for medical marijuana in Texas?

You qualify for medical marijuana in Texas if you meet the following requirements:

  • You must be a permanent resident of Texas.
  • Your illness must be on the Texas medical marijuana official list of conditions.
  • You must have a marijuana prescription from a Compassionate Use Program (CUP) registered doctor.

    What are the qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Texas?

    The qualifying conditions for medical marijuana in Texas include:

    A diagnosis alone does not guarantee approval. The physician must determine that the potential benefits of low-THC cannabis outweigh the risks for the patient.

    What's the process of getting a marijuana prescription in Texas?

    Follow the steps below to get a marijuana prescription with Quick Med Cards:

    1. Complete our sign-up form and create your account.
    2. Book your appointment with one of our Texas medical marijuana doctors.
    3. Attend your virtual consultation over a video call.
    4. Get your cannabis prescription after the doctor’s approval.

    I have several qualifying conditions. Does that guarantee that I'll get my cannabis prescription?

    No. The law doesn’t obligate marijuana doctors in Texas to approve patients for medical marijuana. Your doctor must determine whether the risks of low-THC cannabis are reasonable in light of its potential benefits for you.

    How is the consultation done? Can I have a video call with the doctor?

    Yes. Once you book your appointment, we’ll send you a secure link for your video call when the consultation time approaches. You’ll meet with your physician to discuss how medical cannabis could benefit your health–this generally takes 10-15 minutes. After your doctor approves, you’ll receive your prescription via email. It’ll also be available from your Quick Med Cards dashboard.

    What happens after I'm approved?

    Your Texas cannabis doctor will enter your prescription into the Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT).

    When will I get my med card in the mail?

    Texas doesn’t issue physical medical cards to patients. 

    Once your doctor enters your prescription in CURT, a licensed Texas dispensary can verify it and dispense your medication according to the prescription.

    How long is my cannabis prescription valid for?

    Your cannabis prescription will be valid for 1 year.

    I lost/destroyed my marijuana prescription. How do I ask for a new one?

    You can always retrieve your cannabis prescription from your Quick Med Cards dashboard.

    Are there other fees I need to pay for?

    With Quick Med Cards, your consultation and certification cost $149, with financing available for as low as $47 if approved. The Texas Compassionate Use Program doesn’t charge a fee for the marijuana prescription.

    What forms of ID are accepted for a medical marijuana card?

    Accepted forms of identification may include:

    • Texas driver’s license.
    • Texas state identification card.

    Texas requires permanent state residency to qualify for the Compassionate Use Program. If you need help with the application, contact Quick Med Cards at (207) 645-1645 or staff@quickmedcards.com.

    Can out-of-state patients apply for a medical marijuana card?

    No. Texas requires patients to be permanent residents of the state to qualify for the Compassionate Use Program. An out-of-state medical marijuana card or prescription does not authorize you to obtain medical cannabis through the Texas program.

    Do I need medical records to get a medical marijuana card?

    Medical records are not required by the state to qualify for the Texas Compassionate Use Program. However, your doctor may request them to review your condition and medical history. A qualified physician will determine whether you qualify for low-THC cannabis under Texas law. 

    Will I get a refund if the doctor does not approve my certification?

    Yes. If our doctor determines that you do not qualify for medical marijuana, you can request a refund of your appointment fee, minus $5 for bank fees. Email staff@quickmedcards.com within 4 months of your appointment date. Refunds do not apply if you miss or cancel your appointment or fail to complete the required state application steps. Read the Quick Med Cards refund policy for details.

    Can I get a discount on my consultation?

    Yes. If you find a lower price for a comparable consultation, email the webpage link to staff@quickmedcards.com. Our team will review it and, if it qualifies, beat the price by $5.

    Do I have to pay before my medical marijuana consultation?

    Yes. You need to pay the appointment fee to reserve your consultation time. The fee covers your appointment and certification, if approved. 

    What payment methods does Quick Med Cards accept?

    Quick Med Cards accepts debit and credit cards. If you need assistance, contact us at (207) 645-1645 or staff@quickmedcards.com.

    Does insurance cover the cost of a medical marijuana consultation?

    No. Quick Med Cards does not accept insurance for medical marijuana consultations.

    #

    Get Your Medical Marijuana Card

    Same-day appointments available for online medical marijuana evaluation.
    Get your certification now!