Updated on October 7, 2021. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Shatha Atiya.
State Jurisdiction: The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS)
Address: 150 North 18th Avenue
Phoenix, Arizona 85007
Phone – (602) 542-1025
Fax – (602) 542-0883
Website: Arizona Medical Marijuana Program
Registering for the Arizona Medical Marijuana Program
Patients in Arizona must get a recommendation from a licensed marijuana physician to start their Arizona medical marijuana card application. After receiving your signed medical marijuana certification, you may submit your patient registration to the Arizona Department of Health Services. After approval, you can buy cannabis from any medical marijuana dispensary in Arizona listed on the state website.
To be eligible for a medical card in AZ:
- Adult applicants must be 18 (eighteen) years or older to apply.
- Patients younger than eighteen (18) years of age at the time of application must have a designated and registered ‘Approved Caregiver’ applying on their behalf.
- All applicants must be Arizona residents.
- A diagnosis with a qualifying medical condition is necessary.
- Adult patients must complete the online registration process through the ADHS Individual Licensing Portal.
- The medical card application fee is $150 and is non-refundable. Applicants participating in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP), qualify for a $75 reduced fee.
A Brief History of the Arizona Medical Marijuana Program
Following a majority vote on November 2nd, 2010, Arizona officialized its medical marijuana initiative, through Proposition 203. The ADHS finalized its dispensary and patient registry documentation on March 28th, 2011. Then, on April 14th, patients and caregivers could apply for the MMP.
A registered Arizona patient can possess up to 2 and a half ounces of marijuana, and may also designate their caregiver to carry or possess the marijuana on their behalf. Moreover, Arizona marijuana laws stipulate that any patient living 25 miles (or further) away from a dispensary may cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants on their own property.
Out-of-state patients are eligible for legal protection for up to 30 days through their medical marijuana ID card. But, they cannot purchase cannabis products from an Arizona dispensary.
In 2019, Governor Doug Ducey approved a law requiring state dispensaries to test all of their medical marijuana products through third-party laboratories for the purposes of THC/CBD potency, as well as any potential contaminants. The legislature also increased the validity of medical ID cards to two years, upwards from one.
Also in 2019, the Arizona Supreme Court settled State v. Jones; ruling that any concentrates, cannabis-infused edibles, and/or other similar products were legal. Therefore, putting an end to the controversy stemming from the misinterpretation of 2010’s voter-backed Proposition.
Ten years after its medical legalization, Arizona residents voted in 60% majority to legalize adult-use recreational marijuana through Proposition 207. Come 2021, Arizona became one of the first states to apply its voter initiative on January 22nd, being one of the hallmark states of US-wide normalization, along with New Jersey, New York, and New Mexico.
How you can get your Marijuana Recommendation
Before you can begin the MMP application process, you need to have a signed medical recommendation from a state-licensed marijuana physician.
All of our Arizona doctors are licensed and registered within the ADHS database. More than that, they have years of experience in medical marijuana and are kind and compassionate.
Since Arizona law requires that your appointment happens in person, we can help you book an appointment with a licensed AZ medical marijuana doctor near you, at your earliest convenience.
Once you have chosen your doctor, you will have a short 15-minute consultation with them at their practice. Here, you will have a chat with your doctor about why you would qualify for medical marijuana treatment, and they will evaluate how beneficial it would be for your health. If your doctor approves, they will issue a signed medical marijuana recommendation.
How to Qualify for the Arizona Medical Marijuana Program
Arizona doctors must follow a state-approved list of qualifying medical conditions when recommending marijuana treatment to patients. Below we have compiled a comprehensive list of all the qualifying conditions for a medical card in Arizona.
However, take note of the fact that getting a diagnosis does not automatically qualify you for an Arizona medical marijuana ID card. It is up to your recommending physician to evaluate your medical condition and decide whether cannabis treatment is the right solution for your health and well-being.
- Agitation of Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s Disease (IBD)
- Hepatitis C
- HIV/ AIDS
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Any diagnosis or debilitating medical condition causing:
AZ Medical Marijuana Laws
Following this year’s legalization, the Arizona marijuana market has flourished both on its medical and recreational sides.
Thanks to the added accessibility to marijuana products brought on by this market flourish, state-registered patients are encouraged to stay up-to-date with the AZ marijuana laws in relation to the benefits and responsibilities that their patient status provides:
- Through their medical marijuana ID card, patients are allowed to possess 2.5 ounces of marijuana for every 14-day period. For reference, recreational users are allowed a possession limit of only 1 ounce.
- State-approved dispensaries remain the only locations where you may conduct your marijuana-related purchases. Personal sales are strictly prohibited by Arizona state laws and you should NOT engage with them in any way, shape, or form.
- Patients who live at least 25 miles away from a dispensary may grow up to 12 cannabis plants on their own private property. For reference, non-patient residents are allowed to cultivate up to 6 plants, or 12 per household, if two or more adults are inhabiting the residence.
- If your treatment includes hashish-based products OR other products made from any type of marijuana concentrate, know that state regulations remain the same, as per Schedule I drug regulations. The legal possession limit for hash and concentrates is 5 grams.
- Marijuana paraphernalia (such as bongs, tobacco blunts, rolling paper) is fully legalized for adults through Proposition 207. Adults are allowed to possess, use, manufacture, and sell paraphernalia without any legal repercussions.
Arizona (AZ) Medical Marijuana Card Rules
Learn all you need to know about what it means to be a medical marijuana patient in Arizona. Check out how to get an Arizona Medical Marijuana Card for extensive information on obtaining a med card, renewing it, as well as any other questions you might have.
List of Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Arizona
Arizona presents an extensive number of medical marijuana providers, with the most populous areas including Phoenix, Mesa, and Glendale.
For a full account of the registered dispensaries in Arizona, check out the official ADHS list of licensed marijuana establishments.