State Jurisdiction: Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services (DHSS)
P.O. Box 570,
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
Phone: 866-219-0165 (Toll-free)
Registering for the Medical Marijuana Program Missouri (MMMP)
State patients are required to have a recommendation from a licensed in-state marijuana physician before they start their application to get a Missouri medical marijuana card (MMMP card Missouri). After receiving your signed medical marijuana certification, you may submit your application with the Medical Marijuana Program Missouri (MMMP). Take note of the following application criteria:
- Patients must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply.
- Minor patients may designate a caregiver, such as one of their parents, to apply on their behalf.
- You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition recognized by the state of Missouri (listed below).
- You must be a Missouri resident with proof of residency. This may come in the form of a state-issued driver’s license or a Missouri State ID Card.
- Along with their physician-issued medical recommendation and valid form of ID, all patients are required to pay a state application fee of $25.
- Out-of-state med cards cannot be used to purchase medical marijuana in Missouri.
A Brief History of Medical Marijuana Program Missouri (MMMP)
Through the signing of Amendment 2 on the 6th of November, 2018, Missouri voters decided in a 65% majority to legalize medical marijuana for state-wide patient access.
The bill shortly went into effect the following month. The plans were now in place to create a medical marijuana program in Missouri (MMMP), with a clearly defined set of marijuana laws serving as its legal framework.
What followed was a long-winded road of advisory committees, legislation revisions, and product licensing, throughout all of 2019, as well as the better half of 2020. While the Covid Pandemic proved a significant challenge to its eagerly-awaited MMJ industry, Missouri officially launched the medical marijuana program on October 17th, 2020, with its first dispensary sale of cannabis-based medication.
Fast forward a few more months, and in January 2021 the Missouri Department of Health and Senior Services reported that the state’s MMP compiled 100,000 registered patients, with a total of 56 authorized dispensary facilities serving medical marijuana products.
The patient community, alongside the dispensary market, would only have further room to grow from thereon.
Getting your Marijuana Recommendation
Getting a medical marijuana recommendation in Missouri is easier than you might think.
We can help you schedule an online appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor today. To get started, fill out our sign-up form – it only takes a few minutes!
Once you’ve done that, you and your chosen doctor will have a conversation about why medical marijuana may be beneficial for your treatment, and they will make a decision based on your specific medical condition. Appointments usually take between 10 to 15 minutes and are all done via Doxy, our chosen telemedicine platform.
How to Qualify for the MMMP Card in Missouri
Medical marijuana doctors only recommend medicinal cannabis to patients diagnosed with qualifying conditions for a medical card in Missouri. The conditions include:
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Cachexia (Wasting Syndrome)
- Crohn’s disease
- Hepatitis C
- Huntington’s disease
- Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
- Migraines (unresponsive to other treatment)
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Muscle spasms
- Neuropathies, or any other condition in the professional judgment of a physician
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Parkinson’s disease
- Sickle-cell Anemia
- Terminal illness
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Wasting syndrome
- Chronic medical conditions normally treated with a prescription medication that could lead to physical or psychological dependence.
- Chronic medical condition that causes severe, debilitating psychiatric disorders.
Missouri Medical Marijuana Laws
As a law-abiding Missouri state citizen, you should be aware of both your rights and your responsibilities while you are undergoing your medical cannabis treatment:
- You are allowed to purchase up to 4 ounces of marijuana every 30-day period. If your specific treatment imposes a higher dosage, the Department of Health may set a different purchasing limit that will not exceed a physician-recommended 60-day supply. However, you have no legal right to possess anything exceeding the explicitly set limit.
- As per state regulation, you are allowed to cultivate your own marijuana at home, IF you have a Missouri patient cultivation card. This card comes on top of your regular medical marijuana ID card, and you will have to pay an extra $102.30 fee in order to obtain it. A Missouri patient cultivation card allows you to grow up to 6 flowering plants at a time.
- In Missouri, possession of a controlled substance such as hashish and/or marijuana concentrates falls under the same Schedule I Drug regulations. Therefore, if your medical treatment includes products that are hashish-based OR made from any other type of marijuana concentrate, know that the penalties for unlawful use remain the same.
- The only authorized locations for your medical marijuana purchases are state-approved dispensaries. Personal sales are highly prohibited by the court of law and you should NOT engage with them in any way, shape, or form.
- Marijuana paraphernalia (such as bongs, tobacco blunts, rolling paper) is NOT necessary for any type of marijuana treatment. You have no legal excuse for being found in possession of such an item, or, even worse, to be using it for your own product manufacturing.
Missouri (MO) Medical Marijuana Dispensary List
Missouri’s various dispensary locations are spread out throughout the state’s borders. The most dispensary-populated locations include Kansas City, Springfield, and St. Louis.
For a full account of the registered dispensaries in Missouri, check out the DHSS official list of licensed marijuana establishments.