Updated on October 7, 2021. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Shatha Atiya.
State Jurisdiction: Delaware Health and Social Services (DHSS) – Division of Public Health
Address: Delaware Division of Public Health – Medical Marijuana Program,
417 Federal St., Suite 140, Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 744-4749
Website: Delaware Office of Medical Marijuana
Registering for the Delaware (DE) Medical Marijuana Program
State patients are required to have a recommendation from a licensed in-state marijuana physician before they start their application to receive a Delaware medical marijuana card. After receiving your signed medical marijuana certification, you may submit your application with the Delaware Office of Medical Marijuana. Take note of the following application criteria:
- Patients must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply.
- Minor patients may designate a caregiver, such as one of their parents, to apply on their behalf.
- You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition recognized by the state of Delaware (listed below).
- You must be a Delaware resident with proof of residency. This may come in the form of a state-issued driver’s license or a Delaware State ID Card.
- Along with their physician-issued medical recommendation and valid form of ID, all patients are required to pay a state application fee of $50.
- Out-of-state applicants are not eligible to receive a medical card in Delaware.
A Brief History of the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program
On May 13th, 2011, Delaware signed Senate Bill 17. Soon after, on July 1st, 2011, it entered into effect, bringing the Delaware weed laws into effect with it.
This bill allowed patients with a qualifying medical condition to benefit from the use of marijuana for “medicinally therapeutic purposes.” This would be done through a written recommendation from a specialized physician.
While the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program took several years to implement, it finally saw the opening of its first medical dispensary near Wilmington, the state’s largest city on June 26th, 2015.
Following 2015’s remarkable signing, the MPP also saw major changes in both 2018 and 2019 regarding its legislation for the discharge of Delaware’s cannabis-related crimes. Senate Bill 197, signed on the 29th of August 2018, allows first possession offenders of up to an ounce of cannabis to be automatically eligible for a cleared record.
Moreover, Senate Bill 37, which was signed less than a year later, on June 30th 2019, allows for first-offender cannabis misdemeanor charges to be dropped after five years, while felony charges after seven.
Finally, 2019’s House Bill 110 also brought a ray of hope for the legalization of adult-use marijuana, entering into the Delaware senate on May 16th 2019. In current times, House Bill 110’s status is still currently in debate during Delaware’s 2021-2022 legislation assembly.
Delaware’s road to medical marijuana legalization was well-paved by its adamant legislation.
Getting your Marijuana Recommendation
Getting a medical marijuana recommendation in Delaware is easier than you might think.
We can help you schedule an online appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor in Delaware today. To get started, click the link and fill out our sign-up form – it only takes a few minutes!
Once you’ve done that, you and your chosen doctor will have a conversation about why medical marijuana may be beneficial for your treatment, and they will make a decision based on your specific medical condition. Appointments usually take between 10 to 15 minutes and are all done via the Doxy telemedicine platform.
How to Qualify for the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program
Physicians in Delaware can only recommend marijuana treatment to patients who are diagnosed with one of the 2021 Delaware medical marijuana list of conditions. You should consider talking to one of our licensed physicians about medical marijuana treatment if you are currently suffering from one (or multiple) of the following:
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS/Lou Gehrig’s Disease)
- Autism (with aggressive behavior)
- Chronic Debilitating Migraine
- Decompensated Cirrhosis
- Intractable Epilepsy
- HIV / AIDS
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Terminal Illness
- A chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or treatment of that results in one or more of the following;
- Cachexia (Wasting Syndrome)
- Intractable Nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms, including but not limited to those characteristic of Multiple Sclerosis (MS).
- Severe debilitating pain that has not responded to previously prescribed medication or surgical measure for more than three months, or for which other treatment options produced serious side effects.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Laws
Any Medical Marijuana patient in Delaware should know that:
- Your patient status allows you to get a 3 ounce supply of marijuana over a 14-day period. There is no legal reason for you to possess any marijuana beyond that explicitly set limit.
- Growing your own marijuana plants is STRICTLY forbidden as per Delaware medical marijuana laws. Any and all medical cannabis you intend to use needs to be purchased from a state-approved dispensary.
- Regarding legal MMJ purchasing practices in Delaware – licensed DE dispensaries (also known as Compassion Centers) should be the only establishment where any cannabis-related transactions occur. Personal sales are prohibited by the court of law and you should NOT engage with them in any way, shape, or form.
- If your treatment includes hashish-based products OR any other type of marijuana concentrates, know that the regulations for unlawful use remain the same. The state of DE treats hash and concentrates just as it treats marijuana – as a schedule I drug.
- Marijuana paraphernalia (such as bongs, tobacco blunts, rolling paper) is NOT necessary for any type of medical marijuana treatment. Therefore, you should avoid possessing any such item or use it in order to create your own medication.
You can find a comprehensive list of marijuana-related penalties and regulations on our dedicated Delaware Marijuana Laws page.
Delaware Medical Marijuana Card
Learn all you need to know about what it means to be a medical marijuana patient in Delaware.
Find out how to get a Delaware medical marijuana card for extensive information on obtaining a med card, renewing it, as well as any other questions you might have.
Step-by-Step Application Process
Need help with the application process? No problem! We’re here to help.
Take a look at our Delaware Patient and Caregiver Application Guide and get all the answers you need.
Delaware’s compassion centers, albeit limited in number at the moment, are actively getting expanded through the development of the state’s marijuana market. Current locations include Wilmington, Smyrna, and Newark.
For a full account of the registered dispensaries in Delaware, check out the DHSS official list of licensed marijuana establishments.