State Jurisdiction: New Jersey Department of Health
Address: New Jersey Department of Health
P. O. Box 360, Trenton, NJ 08625-0360
Registering for the NJ Medical Marijuana Program
Patients are required to have a recommendation from a licensed marijuana physician before they can start their application for a New Jersey medical marijuana card. After receiving your signed medical marijuana recommendation, you may begin the patient registration process with the New Jersey Division of Medical Marijuana. Take note of the following application criteria:
- Adult patients must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply.
- Minor patients may designate a caregiver, such as one of their parents, to apply on their behalf.
- You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition recognized by the state of New Jersey (listed below).
- All minor patients need two written recommendations: one from a pediatric doctor and another from a Psychiatrist.
- You must be a New Jersey resident with proof of residency. This may come in the form of a state-issued driver’s license or a New Jersey State ID Card.
- Along with their physician-issued medical recommendation and valid form of ID, all patients are required to pay a state application fee of $100.
- Out-of-state applicants are eligible to receive a medical card in New Jersey.
A Brief History of the NJ Medical Marijuana Program
On January 18th, 2010, New Jersey became the 14th state in the US to pass a medical marijuana legalization bill. S No. 88, also known as CUMMA, was unfortunately stalled from being applied at a state-wide level the following day, by a change in New Jersey’s acting governor.
On August 9th, 2012, the online patient registration portal finally reopened, allowing licensed physicians to include qualified patients into the newly-created NJ Medical Marijuana Program (NJMMP).
Throughout the 2010s, supporting bills came in multiple forms. September 10th, 2013, marked the signing of S No. 2842, which legalized the consumption of edible marijuana medication for minor patients.
Meanwhile, on June 2nd, 2019, acting governor Phil Murphy signed A No. 20, which brought about a significant overhaul to the NJ’s medical marijuana laws – facilitating the growth of manufacturer-led cultivation and distribution, as well as providing its patients with new options for their medical cannabis purchases.
On November 3rd, 2020, New Jersey voters approved the Marijuana Legalization Amendment act, with a remarkable 67% majority, thereby legalizing the adult-use of recreational marijuana all around New Jersey state.
While the following months proved a rather difficult transitional period for the state’s would-be marijuana market, February 22nd, 2021 brought the Amendment into reality, with the legalization of personal-use possession of up to 6 ounces of cannabis/17 grams of hashish. Through this, NJ became the 14th US state to legalize marijuana for adults aged 21 and over.
Getting your Marijuana Recommendation
Getting a medical marijuana recommendation in New Jersey is easier than you might think.
We work with licensed practitioners who are experts when it comes to medical marijuana treatment. They will evaluate if you are currently suffering from any of the qualifying conditions and if you may benefit from using medical marijuana. These include any of the life-threatening, debilitating, or otherwise severe conditions listed below.
Simply schedule an online appointment with one of our NJ-licensed medical marijuana doctors today by filling out our sign-up form – it only takes a few minutes!
Once you’ve done that, you and your chosen doctor will have a conversation about why medical marijuana may be beneficial for your treatment, and they will make a decision based on your specific medical condition. Appointments usually take between 10 to 15 minutes and are all done online via Doxy.
How to Qualify for the NJ Medical Marijuana Program
Physicians in New Jersey can only recommend marijuana treatment to patients who are diagnosed with one of the qualifying conditions listed below. You should consider talking to one of our licensed physicians about medical marijuana treatment if you are currently suffering from:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Chronic Pain
- Inflammatory bowel disease (IBD)
- Crohn’s disease (IBD)
- Intractable skeletal spasticity
- Multiple sclerosis (MS)
- Muscular dystrophy
- Opioid Use Disorder
- HIV / AIDS
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Seizure disorder (including epilepsy)
- Terminal illness (prognosis of fewer than 12 months to live)
- Tourette Syndrome
You can read more about what qualifies for a medical card in NJ here.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Laws
While the state’s achieved normalization of adult-use weed spells remarkable news for the Garden State’s medical marijuana patient community, the NJ cannabis regulations for unlawful use of a Schedule I Drug, which marijuana is still classified as, have remained in place. As a responsible New Jersey state patient, you should always take note of the following:
- Your patient and/or NJ resident status provides you with access to a 6 ounce supply of cannabis at a given time. You have NO legal reason for you to possess any marijuana beyond this limited quantity unless requested by your recommending physician.
- Your patient status does NOT give you the right to grow medical cannabis plants in New Jersey, regardless of recreational legalization. Any cannabis needs to be bought from a state-approved dispensary in N.J.
- Personal sales are highly prohibited by the court of law and you should NOT engage with them in any way, shape, or form.
- If your treatment includes hashish-based products OR any other type of marijuana concentrates, know that the regulations for unlawful use remain the same. The state of NJ treats hashish and concentrates just as it treats marijuana, as a Schedule I drug, and any quantity beyond the state-allowed limit of 17 grams exposes you to the relevant legal penalties.
- New Jersey patients and/or residents under the age of 21 are NOT allowed to engage with Marijuana paraphernalia, such as bongs, tobacco blunts, or rolling paper. You have no legal excuse for possessing such an item, or, similar to the infringement of cultivation laws, to be using it in order to create your own medication.
- New Jersey has reciprocity with all other MMP states. This means that, if you are an out-of-state medical marijuana patient, you can partake in your marijuana medication for up to 6 months while you are visiting New Jersey. Out-of-state patients may also be certified by an NJ MMJ physician.
You can find a comprehensive list of marijuana-related penalties and regulations on our dedicated New Jersey Marijuana Laws page.
New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card
Learn all you need to know about what it means to be a medical marijuana patient in New Jersey.
Check out how to get a New Jersey Medical Marijuana Card for extensive information on obtaining a med card, renewing it, as well as any other questions that you might have.
New Jersey Dispensaries
New Jersey’s various dispensary locations are spread out throughout the state’s borders. The most dispensary-populated locations include Atlantic City, Montclair, and Phillipsburg.
For a full account of the registered dispensaries in New Jersey, check out Potguide’s comprehensive list of licensed marijuana establishments.