State Jurisdiction: Ohio Department of Commerce
Phone: 1-833-464-6627 (Toll-free)
Registering for the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program
Patients are required to have a recommendation from a licensed marijuana physician before they can start their application for an Ohio medical marijuana card. After receiving your signed medical marijuana certification, you may begin the registration process in the Ohio Medical Marijuana Registry. Take note of the following application criteria:
- Patients must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply.
- Minor patients may designate a caregiver, such as one of their parents, to apply on their behalf.
- You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition recognized by the state of Ohio (listed below).
- You must be an Ohio resident with proof of residency. This may come in the form of a state-issued driver’s license or an Ohio State ID Card.
- Along with their physician-issued medical recommendation and valid form of ID, all patients are required to pay a state application fee of $50. Veteran status or indigent status may qualify you for a 50% fee reduction.
- Out-of-state applicants are not eligible to receive a medical card in Ohio.
A Brief History of the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program
With the approval of its cannabis legislature back in June of 2016, Ohio began giving its residents access to marijuana use for medical reasons.
OH patients suffering from debilitating illnesses such as ALS, PTSD, and cancer, among the state’s many other qualifying conditions, now gain quick and easy access to the medication they require. What follows is the natural creation of the Ohio marijuana laws, concerning both current and future participants in the OH MMP.
The Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program, running under the state’s Department of Public Health, oversees the operation of the Ohio medical marijuana laws and regulations. Through House Bill 523, qualified patients are allowed the legal possession of up to a 90-day supply, a quantity that is calculated through the state’s Board of Pharmacy based on the patient’s unique needs.
Another noteworthy regulation is that Ohio patients are not allowed to medicate via smoking hemp. It can instead be administered through vaporization, CBD oils, applied tincture, edible consumption, and/or cannabis patches.
Getting your Marijuana Recommendation
Getting a medical marijuana recommendation in Ohio is easier than you might think.
We can help you schedule an online appointment with a licensed Ohio medical marijuana doctor today. To get started, fill out our sign-up form – it only takes a few minutes!
Once you’ve done that, you and your chosen doctor will have a conversation about why medical marijuana may be beneficial for your treatment, and they will make a decision based on your specific medical condition. Appointments usually take between 10 to 15 minutes and are all done online via Doxy.
How to Qualify for the Ohio Medical Marijuana Control Program
Consider opening up the discussion about medical marijuana with one of our healthcare practitioners if you are currently suffering from one or more of the qualifying conditions for a medical card in Ohio:
- Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
- Alzheimer’s Disease
- Chronic Traumatic Encephalopathy
- Crohn’s Disease (IBD)
- Hepatitis C
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)
- Multiple Sclerosis (MS)
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-Traumatic-Stress-Disorder (PTSD)
- Pain (chronic or severe)
- Sickle Cell Anemia
- Spinal Cord Disease or Injury
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Traumatic Brain Injury
- Ulcerative Colitis (IBD)
Ohio Medical Marijuana Laws
As a law-abiding citizen carrying the medical privileges provided by your ID card, you should be aware of both the benefits and the responsibilities of your MMJ patient status:
- Your patient status provides you with access to a 90-day supply of marijuana, a unique quantity that is established by your recommending physician once you have begun your treatment. There is no legal reason for you to possess any marijuana beyond that explicitly set limit.
- Your patient status does NOT give you the right to grow cannabis plants on your own property. Any and all medical cannabis you intend to use need to be purchased from a licensed Ohio dispensary.
- Personal sales are highly prohibited by the court of law and you should NOT engage with them in any way, shape, or form.
- If your treatment includes hashish-based products OR any other type of marijuana concentrate, know that the regulations for unlawful use remain the same. The state of OH treats hash and concentrates just as it treats marijuana – as a schedule I drug.
- Marijuana paraphernalia (such as bongs, tobacco blunts, rolling paper) is NOT necessary for any type of marijuana treatment. You have no legal excuse for possessing such an item, or, similar to cultivation, to be using it in order to create your own medication.
You can find a comprehensive list of marijuana-related penalties and regulations on our dedicated Ohio Marijuana Laws page.
Ohio Medical Marijuana Card
Learn all you need to know about what it means to be a medical marijuana patient in Ohio.
Check out how to get an Ohio Medical Marijuana Card for extensive information on obtaining a med card, renewing it, as well as any other questions and curiosities you might have.
Ohio’s dispensary market numbers multiple locations throughout state borders, with Columbus, Cincinnati, and Cleveland being the most noteworthy locations in terms of their dispensary population.
For a full account of the registered dispensaries in Ohio, check out Potguide’s Comprehensive list of licensed marijuana establishments.