Updated on November 26, 2021. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Shatha Atiya.
State Jurisdiction: Maryland Department of Health
Address: 100 Community Place, Crownsville, MD 21032. 1-877-634-6361
Phone: 877-634-6361 (toll-free)
Registering for Maryland Medical Marijuana (MMCC) Program
Patients in Maryland are required to have a recommendation from a licensed marijuana physician before they can start their application for a Maryland medical marijuana card. After receiving your signed medical marijuana recommendation, you may submit your application with the MMCC. Take note of the following application criteria:
- Patients must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply.
- Minor patients may designate a caregiver, such as one of their parents, to apply on their behalf.
- You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition recognized by the state of Maryland (listed below).
- You must be a Maryland resident with proof of residency. This may come in the form of a state-issued driver’s license or a Maryland State ID Card.
- Along with their physician-issued medical recommendation and valid form of ID, all patients are required to pay a state application fee of $50.
- Out-of-state applicants are not eligible to receive a medical card in Maryland.
A Brief History of Maryland Medical Marijuana (MMCC) Program
Maryland’s marijuana laws have undergone significant changes throughout the last decade. In 2010, the State of Maryland spent $106,702,784 in enforcing cannabis laws.
It is one of the 12 states with the highest arrest in 2010 for marijuana possession. Maryland was the fifth-highest with a 409 arrest rate per 100,000 residents, followed by Illinois who has 389 per 100,000 residents.
Although authorities have approved the MMP through HB881, known as the Natalie M. LaPrade Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission, in April 2014, it became fully operational three years after when the first dispensaries in Maryland opened in December 2017.
With many laws and policies covering the medical cannabis program in Maryland, it is straightforward that one may forget and unintentionally violate the law. You can read the full rules and regulations from their official website, but you can always read the summarized policies we purposely outlined on this page.
Getting your Marijuana Recommendation
Get a medical marijuana recommendation in Maryland – It’s easier than you might think!
We can help you schedule an online appointment with a licensed medical marijuana doctor today. To get started, fill out our sign-up form – it only takes a few minutes!
Once you’ve done that, you and the doctor will have a conversation about why medical marijuana may be beneficial for your treatment, and they will make a decision based on your specific medical condition. Appointments usually take between 10 to 15 minutes and are all done online via Doxy.
How to Qualify for the Maryland MMCC Program
In Maryland, doctors are guided by a set list of qualifying conditions when recommending marijuana treatment for patients. You can find the complete list below.
However, you should note that being diagnosed with any of these conditions does not guarantee you will receive a recommendation. It is up to the doctor to evaluate if medical marijuana is the best option for you.
The qualifying conditions for a medical card in Maryland include:
- Muscle Spasms
- Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Pain (chronic or severe)
- Wasting Syndrome
- Any other chronic medical condition which is severe and for which other treatments have been ineffective.
Maryland Medical Marijuana Laws
While having a Maryland medical marijuana ID card is an incredible boon for your health and well-being, you should be aware of the great responsibility that your patient status carries with it. As a law-abiding Maryland patient, you take note of the following while you are undergoing your medical cannabis treatment:
- Your patient status grants you the right to possess a specific quantity of cannabis over a 30-day period. Depending on your treatment requirements, this quantity will likely vary on a case-by-case scenario. However, you have NO legal right to possess anything exceeding your explicitly set limit.
- Your patient status does NOT give you the right to grow medical cannabis plants in Maryland. Any and all medical cannabis need to be purchased from a state-approved dispensary.
- In Maryland, possession of a controlled substance such as hashish and/or cannabis concentrates falls under the same Schedule I Drug regulations as typical marijuana. Therefore, if your medical treatment includes products that are hashish-based OR made from any other type of marijuana concentrate, know that the penalties for unlawful use remain the same.
- The only authorized locations for your medical marijuana purchases are state-approved dispensaries. Personal sales are highly prohibited by the court of law and you should NOT engage with them in any way, shape, or form, else you risk being charged with a sentence for possession with intent to distribute.
- Interaction of any kind with marijuana paraphernalia products is NOT necessary for your medical treatment. You have no legal excuse for being found in possession of such an item, or, even worse, to be using it for your own product manufacturing.
You can find a comprehensive list of marijuana-related penalties and regulations on our dedicated Maryland Marijuana Laws page.
How to Get Maryland Medical Marijuana (MMCC) Card
Learn all you need to know about what it means to be a medical marijuana patient in Maryland.
Check out how to get a Maryland Medical Card for extensive information on obtaining a med card, renewing it, as well as any other questions and curiosities you might have.
MMCC Dispensary List in Maryland
Maryland’s numerous dispensary locations are spread out across its state borders, with Baltimore, Ellicott City, and Lewiston among its most dispensary-populated areas.
For a full account of the registered dispensaries in Maryland, check out the MMCC’s official list of licensed marijuana establishments.