Updated on October 7, 2021. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Shatha Atiya.
State Jurisdiction: (DHP Virginia) Virginia Department of Health Professions – Board of Pharmacy
Address: Virginia Board of Pharmacy, Perimeter Center
9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 300
Henrico, VA 23233
Fax: (804) 527-4472
Getting your Medical Cannabis Card in Virginia (VA)
Qualifying for medical marijuana in Virginia requires that patients get a VA medical marijuana card first. The process is very simple, far from what most people think. To begin, patients must book an appointment with a registered Virginia medical marijuana doctor and get certified. Next, certified patients should create an account with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy Web Portal (DHP Virginia). Then, complete the registration process. Finally, patients should scan and send the required documents to the Board of Pharmacy’s email. It’s that simple.
All patients should keep in mind the following basic requirements:
- Only residents of Virginia qualify for the state medical marijuana program.
- Only Board-registered medical marijuana doctors in VA can provide valid written marijuana recommendations.
- The minimum age requirement for medical marijuana is eighteen (18) years old.
- Yet, minor patients may qualify if their parent or legal guardian applies on their behalf.
- Patients must pay a non-refundable $50 application fee, and parents or legal guardians applying for minor patients must pay a $25 fee.
A Brief History of the Virginia Medical Marijuana Program
Virginia’s legislative history with medical marijuana started back in 1979 with the Code of Virginia. The Code protected patients with a valid cannabis prescription from a doctor to treat glaucoma or the side effects of chemotherapy. Nowadays, doctors can’t prescribe medical marijuana, instead, they can recommend it to their patients. You can read more about the difference between a marijuana prescription and a recommendation, and how to get one.
Fast forward to 2018 with the passing of HB 1251. This law allowed practitioners to issue written certifications for the use of Cannabidiol (CBD) oil or THC-A oil for the treatment or to ease symptoms of any condition the practitioner determined would benefit from such use.
In 2019, SB 1557 expanded further on the Code of Virginia. As a result, nurse practitioners and physician assistants could now also issue written certifications for patients to use cannabis extracts. Additionally, this legislation specified that each dose could contain a maximum of 10 milligrams of THC.
Booking your Online Medical Marijuana Evaluation
Did you know that patients in Virginia can get a valid cannabis recommendation online in just a few minutes?
How? The first step is booking an appointment with a Board-registered medical marijuana doctor in VA. Afterward, at your appointment time, attend your online marijuana evaluation. The online marijuana evaluation is a 10-minute appointment that takes place on a video call. We conduct our telemedicine appointments through Doxy, a secure and user-friendly telemedicine platform. During the marijuana evaluation, you and your doctor will discuss whether medical marijuana would be the best option for you.
If your VA medical marijuana doctor approves your medical marijuana use, expect your written certification within minutes after the conclusion of your appointment.
Requirements & Patient Eligibility
Patients in Virginia suffering from any medical condition may qualify for medical marijuana. But, only if the recommending doctor determines that marijuana use may ease their condition or symptoms. Go here to get familiar with the requirements for medical marijuana in Virginia.
Virginia Medical Marijuana Program Laws
Patients with a VA medical marijuana card have the added benefit of legal protection when in possession of medical marijuana besides enjoying the healing properties of the cannabis they can access. Still, patients may find their registration to the Virginia medical marijuana program revoked if they break the Virginia marijuana laws. So what are patients not allowed?
- The Board of Pharmacy may revoke a patient’s registration if a committee establishes evidence that the patient provided incorrect or misleading information during the registration process.
- Patients, parents, or legal guardians CANNOT let another person use their registration. Moreover, tampering or modifying the registration may also lead to the cancellation of the VA medical marijuana card.
- Patients CANNOT acquire more than a 90 day supply of medical cannabis oil within 90 days.
- The Board of Pharmacy may suspend a patient’s, parent’s, or legal guardian’s VA medical card if they fail to report its theft, loss, or damage within five days of becoming aware of the incident.
VA medical cardholders should be vigilant and understand the Virginia medical marijuana laws. This way, they can stay on the safe side of the law and understand the penalties that await lawbreakers.
Virginia MMJ Card
Learn all you need to know about what it means to be a medical cannabis patient in Virginia.
Check out how to get a medical marijuana card in Virginia for extensive information on obtaining a med card, renewing it, as well as any other questions and curiosities you might have.
Medical Dispensaries in Virginia (VA)
With a VA medical marijuana card, you can purchase medicinal cannabis from one of the Virginia medical dispensaries.
Virginia medical dispensaries
- gLeaf Medical in Richmond, VA.
- BEYOND / HELLO Manassas Cannabis Dispensary in Bristow, VA.
- Dharma Pharmaceuticals Cannabis Dispensary in Washington County, VA.
- Columbia Care Portsmouth Dispensary in Portsmouth, VA.