Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission
The Arkansas medical marijuana commission was brought into reality through the signing of the Medical Marijuana Amendment measure on November 8th, 2016.
The Arkansas medical cannabis act was achieved after a majority of 53.2% of voters were in favor of legalizing medicinal marijuana use for patients with a qualifying medical condition.
With the amendment’s certification by the Arkansas Department of Health (ADH), patients who have obtained their Arkansas marijuana card could lawfully possess up to 2.5 ounces of medical cannabis, renewable at a 14-day interval.
As per the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act qualifying conditions, patients would not exceed the initial state-imposed limit for their treatment, under regular circumstances.
The state’s Medical Marijuana Program has been actively integrated into the ADH since June of 2017, supplying an online application form through the Arkansas Medical Marijuana System for state-wide patients.
Looking for a Medical Marijuana Doctor?
How to Get Medical Marijuana in Arkansas
Patients in Arkansas are required to have a recommendation from a licensed marijuana physician before they can start their application for an Arkansas medical marijuana card. After receiving your signed medical marijuana recommendation, you may submit your patient registration to the Arkansas Department of Health Services. Take note of the following application criteria:
- Patients must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply.
- Minor patients may designate a caregiver, such as one of their parents, to apply on their behalf.
- You must be diagnosed with a qualifying medical condition recognized by the state of Arkansas (listed below).
- Additionally, you must be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency. This may come in the form of a state-issued driver’s license or an Arkansas State ID Card.
- Along with your medical recommendation and your ID, you are required to pay a state application fee of $50. This can be done online through the application portal.
- Members of the Arkansas National Guard and/or the United States military are not allowed to register for a medical marijuana card.
How do I Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas?
Signing up with Quick Med Cards takes only a couple of minutes.
To begin, you need to fill out our sign-up form. Here, you will tell us about your medical condition, and enter your current medication, ID, date of birth, mobile number, and location information.
Following that, you may sign in with your Google account or register manually with your email address and password.
And you’re done! You can now book an appointment with a licensed marijuana doctor in Arkansas. Here, you can see our doctors’ availability hours and book the most convenient time slot for you.
As for the appointment itself, you and your doctor will have a conversation about why medical marijuana may be beneficial for your treatment, and they will make a decision based on your specific medical condition. Appointments usually take between 10 to 15 minutes.
How to Qualify for the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program
The following illnesses are the Arkansas medical marijuana qualifying conditions:
- Hepatitis C
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Severe arthritis
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Cachexia (wasting syndrome)
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Intractable pain (pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, remedies, or surgical procedures for more than 6 months)
- Severe nausea
- Seizures (including epilepsy)
- Multiple sclerosis (MS) (Including severe and persistent muscle spasms)
Arkansas MMC and Dispensary Rules
While your Arkansas MMJ card, once earned, may indeed offer you a level of protection in the eyes of the law, you ought to be aware of the specific rights and responsibilities that come with your patient status within the state of Arkansas:
- Your patient status provides you with access to a 2.5-ounce supply of marijuana every 14 days. There is no legal reason for you to possess any marijuana beyond that limit.
- Your patient status does NOT give you the right to grow medical cannabis plants in Arkansas. Any and all medical cannabis you intend to use needs to be acquired through legal purchase from a dispensary that has been approved by the state through an Arkansas cultivation license.
- On the topic of the legal purchase of cannabis – an Arkansas-licensed dispensary should be the only establishment where your cannabis-related transactions occur. Personal sales are highly prohibited by the court of law and you should NOT engage with them in any way, shape, or form.
- If your treatment includes hashish-based products OR any other type of marijuana concentrates, know that the regulations for unlawful use remain the same. The state of AR treats hash and concentrates just as it treats marijuana – as a Schedule I drug.
- Marijuana paraphernalia (such as bongs, tobacco blunts, and rolling paper) is NOT explicitly necessary for any type of medical marijuana treatment. Therefore, you have no legal excuse for possessing such an item, or, similar to cultivation, to be using it in order to create your own medication.
You can find a comprehensive list of marijuana-related penalties and regulations on our dedicated Arkansas Marijuana Laws page.
Arkansas medical marijuana clinic
We can help you find a marijuana clinic near you and discover how to get an Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card. Learn all you need to know about what it means to be a medical marijuana patient in Arkansas. Read more for extensive information on obtaining a med card, and renewing it, as well as any other questions you might have.
Arkansas presents an extensive number of medical marijuana providers, with the most populous areas including Little Rock, West Memphis, and Fayetteville.
For a full account of the registered dispensaries in Arkansas, check out Potguide’s list of the state’s active licensed marijuana establishments.
Does Arkansas have medical marijuana?
Yes, medical marijuana is accessible in the state of Arkansas. As of June 30, 2022, Arkansas boasts over 85, 192 registered patients within its MMP.
How much does a medical marijuana card cost in Arkansas?
All application fees paid to the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission are non-refundable.
- Patient medical marijuana card application: $50
- Renewal of card: $50
- Visiting Patient 30-day card: $50
- Lost or stolen card replacement: There is no fee to replace a lost card if you submit your application online. Simply print your new card using your online account.
Patient Resources and Forms
Contact details for the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Program
State Agency: The Arkansas Department of Health
Phone: Toll-Free 1-833-214-8619 or 501-682-4982
4815 W. Markham St., Slot 50
Little Rock, AR 72205
Get Your Medical Marijuana Card
Same-day appointments available for online medical marijuana evaluation.
Get your certification now!