Arkansas Medical Marijuana Act Qualifying Conditions
The Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission determines the qualifying conditions according to the marijuana act that allows patients to apply for a medical card in the state. This list of qualifying conditions for an Arkansas medical marijuana card is used by healthcare professionals to evaluate if a patient is suitable for medical marijuana treatment.
Looking for a Qualified Medical Marijuana Doctor?
Qualifying Conditions for a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Crohn’s disease (IBD)
- Hepatitis C
- Intractable pain; pain that’s unresponsive to ordinary medications, treatment, or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
- Peripheral neuropathy
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Seizures including those that stem from epilepsy
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms not excluding those synonymous with multiple sclerosis
- Severe arthritis
- Severe nausea
- Tourette’s syndrome
- Ulcerative colitis (IBD)
- Any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health
Arkansas (AR) Medical Marijuana Requirements
Qualifying conditions for the Arkansas Act medical marijuana card, patients must meet the following eligibility requirements:
- You have to be 18 years of age or older or be a minor patient with parental consent.
- You must be diagnosed with at least one of the Arkansas medical marijuana act qualifying conditions listed earlier.
- Have official written certification from a licensed marijuana physician.
- Additionally, you must be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency.
- You should also know that Members of the Arkansas National Guard and the United States military can’t qualify for a medical marijuana card in Arkansas.
Apply for a Medical Marijuana Card in Arkansas
After receiving your medical marijuana certification, you can visit the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission to start your patient application.
Create an account and fill in the required fields. Verify your account and begin your application.
Ensure you complete every part of the application. Remember, an incomplete application won’t be processed and will delay the process.
Also, make note of the following details that you must provide:
- SSN (Social Security Number)
- Military Status (If applicable)
- Sign (use your finger or mouse pad to sign the box)
- State ID (take a clear picture and upload it)
- Physician Certification (use the signed certification you received after approval)
- Pay the non-refundable $50 government fee.
The Arkansas Department of Health generally takes 10-14 days to process a complete application. After approval, you can print your temporary digital Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card immediately. Soon after, the department will print and mail the physical card to your address.
Documents for Your Arkansas Medical Marijuana Card Application
- Proof of ID (Arkansas driver’s license or Arkansas state ID issued by the DMV)
- Medical Marijuana Recommendation (from our AR cannabis doctor after they approve you)
How to Get Medical Marijuana in Arkansas (AR)
You will be able to get medical marijuana in Arkansas if you meet all the qualifications and successfully apply for a medical card. Your Medical Marijuana ID Card enables you to buy medicine from one of the dispensaries authorized by the state. There are a total of 33 licensed dispensaries in Arkansas. The most popular dispensaries in the state include:
- Releaf Center Dispensary in Bentonville, AR
- Bloom Medicinal Dispensary in Texarkana, AR
- Harvest Dispensary in Conway, AR
- Fiddlers Green Dispensary in Mountain View, AR
When buying medical marijuana at a state-regulated dispensary make sure you:
- Bring your Medical Marijuana ID Card and photo ID (AR ID or Driver’s License) when purchasing medicine from a dispensary.
* Underage Patients must be supervised by their designated caregiver or guardian when purchasing their medicine at a dispensary. Caregivers and Guardians must provide proof of ID when accompanying the Minor Patient.
* * Most importantly, patients can’t fill a prescription for medical marijuana at a local pharmacy like other medications.
Caregivers are citizens who can buy medical marijuana on a patient’s behalf through legal authorization.
To become a medical cannabis caregiver in Arkansas:
- You must be 21 years old or older.
- Your patient should either be physically disabled or a minor.
- You can’t have been convicted of a disqualifying felony offense.
- You must be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card)
Note: Parents of a minor with a qualifying condition don’t need to complete a Criminal History Check. Still, the parent must register as a caregiver and pay the non-refundable registry card application fee.
Regular caregivers pay $37 for a Criminal History Check
For a Criminal History Review Application and fingerprint card, caregivers can call 1-833-214-8619 (toll-free) to request one.
Speak with Our Medical Marijuana Doctor Today!
Get approved for your AR medical card after a quick appointment.